So I got some amazing appliances from a very dear friend of mine who sadly moved back to the northern hemisphere. This means most of her appliances wouldn’t work there! I’m so grateful for several reasons. Firstly, every time I use, for example, the food processor, I remember conversations we’ve had about something simple like making hummus, and that reminds me of other great chats we had. So it feels like she is in the kitchen with me, as she has been so much in the past 12 months! It is wonderful, and more of a gift than I could have imagined than just an awesome kitchen appliance.

The other reason I love these new appliances (a food processor, blender and dehydrator) is that I’m discovering all sorts of fun things I can make. In the last several days I’ve made…

  • Dried cinnamon apple pieces (recipe courtesy of Eat Like a Dinosaur by Paleo Parents)
  • Hummus with and without sundried tomatoes added. (I make lots and freeze small portions in a cupcake tray lined with cling-wrap)
  • Banana chips (have to work on those)
  • Coconut Milk (dairy free) Frappacino! Yummy yummy!

On another note, I’m excited as I’m currently in the process of making some ‘Coconut Condensed Milk’ for a Lemon Meringue Pie I will be making for a friend! Looking forward to seeing if it works, and if it is accepted as a replacement in my annual lemon meringue pie! Updates soon!!

